Spain is one of eleven teams that have already secured their spot in the Championship 2019. Photo credit: Sascha Klahn
27. Feb. 2018 12:00

11 of 24 participants for Denmark and Germany 2019 confirmed

While the pre-sale of tickets for the Men’s World Championship 2019 in Germany and Denmark has successfully started, nearly half of the 24 participants of the event are already confirmed.

With the conclusion of the EHF EURO 2018 in Croatia, the 2018 Asian Men’s Handball Championship in Suwon, Korea, and the 2018 African Men’s Handball Championship in Gabon an overall of eleven teams have clinched their berth for the first ever Men’s World Championship jointly hosted by two countries.

Newly crowned European champions Spain, Tunisia (gold), Egypt (silver) and Angola (bronze) as the three top-ranked sides at the African Championship; and Qatar (gold), Bahrain (silver), Korea (bronze) and Saudi Arabia (4th), the first four teams at the Asian Championship, all booked their tickets via those qualification tournaments.

As hosts, Denmark and Germany were automatically qualified, while France booked their place when they raised their sixth World Championship trophy in January 2017.

The final decisions will be taken in Europe and Pan America. Nine spots will be confirmed at those European playoffs:

Serbia vs Portugal

Lithuania vs Island

Czech Republic vs Russia

Slovenia vs Hungary

Belarus vs Austria

Fyr Macedonia vs Romania

Netherlands vs Sweden

Norway vs Switzerland

Croatia vs Montenegro

The matches will be carried out 8-10 June and 12 to 14 June, the aggregate winners book their ticket to the World Championship. The first mentioned teams have the home right in leg one.

The final three spots for Germany/Denmark 2019 will be decided at the Pan American Championship, which will take place in Nuuk, Greenland, from 16 to 24 June.

As neither Australia nor New Zealand finished in the top five at the Asian Championship in Suwon, the place for Oceania becomes the IHF Wild Card, to be awarded based on the decision of the IHF Council.

Tickets for the event are available on-line on in cooperation with the experienced ticketing partners, CTS Eventim in Germany and Ticketmaster in Denmark. The first period of pre-sale - venue related tickets - has started on 14 December 2017.

In this period, you can already secure tickets for the World Championship even though the exact match set-up is not known. The complete match schedule is available after the draw in June 2018. After the draw, the match schedule will be available and all remaining tickets are released for the final sale.

The venues for Germany/Denmark are Herning, Copenhagen (Denmark), Hamburg, Berlin, Cologne and Munich (Germany). The finals will take place in Herning’s Jyske Bank Boxen, where preliminary round, knock-out matches and finals at the 2015 Women’s World Championship were held. The semi-finals will be played at Hamburg’s Barclaycard Arena, which already hosted the 2017 Women’s World Championship finals.